HARBOR SPRINGS — The Michigan Brewers Guild announced its latest Board of Directors additions, as well as several award recipients, last Wednesday at the Guild’s annual Winter Conference held at Boyne Highlands Resort.

Eric Briggeman of Rochester Mills Production Brewery was elected to his sixth term on the board, and will serve his seventh year as Guild President. Isaac Hartman of New Holland Brewing Company also returns for his fourth term, serving as Co-Chair to the Government Affairs Committee.

Newcomer Garry Boyd of BarFly Ventures was elected to his first term on the board.

Other members include Steve Berthel of New Holland (Secretary and Events/Entertainment Chair), Scott Newman-Bale of Short’s Brewing Company (Treasurer), Brad Stevenson of Founders Brewing Co. (Membership Chair) and Aaron Morse of Dark Horse Brewing (Marketing Chair).

The Guild also presented its annual Tom Burns Award. This year’s recipient — Jon Linardos — released his first beer in 1995 for Motor City Brewing Works. He also was essential in the starting of the Detroit & Mackinac Brewing Company, for which Tom Burns was the founder of.

Rick Lack of RAVE Associates was also presented with the inaugural Michigan Beer Patriot Award.

Formed in 1997, the Guild also announced an increase of 29 brewery members (from 119 to 148) over the course of the last year.

Gravel Bottom Craft Brewery